Capability continued…

I have almost finished Capability Brown’s pair of bucked shoes. The photos below show the next few processes involved in finishing them such as adding a strip of randing (stitches around the edge) and adding a leather sole. I will be bringing them to Croome Court on Tuesday 18th and Wednesday 19th of March and will be available for a chat if you have any questions or fancy taking a look, I look forward to meeting you over the next few months as well!

Here, I am roughening up the leather edge around the cork to create a textured surface that the glue cement will stick to more efficiently. This prepares the area for the randing to be added.

This is the randing having being cemented on to the edge of the upper.

Dyeing the leather sole after cementing it and sanding it down over the randing.

I have added a detail to the heel, known as a ‘Thomas heel’, which gives more support to the arch where it is curved. I thought that this would be a nice small detail to reflect Capability Brown’s personality and rolling landscapes.

Leave a comment